Namecheap Status

Posted by Nika P. on 22nd September 2014 @ 11:49 am
n/a

[Updated] Private Email Webmail Accessibility Issues

Dear Customers,

We regret to inform you that Private Email Service is experiencing temporary issues which resulted in unavailability of webmail interface for some users .

Our technical team is working on the issue and doing their best to shorten the downtime.

Estimated time for the issue to be resolved is not known unfortunately, but we will keep you updated.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience and understanding on this matter.

Kind regards,
Namecheap Support Team

 

Update @ 12:30 AM EDT | 04:30 PM GMT

Unfortunately we saw a recurrence of a software glitch in our Private Email platform. Our platform is powered by Open-Xchange, and we are engaged with their development team to address this glitch permanently as soon as possible. The service is working as normal at this moment in time.

Thank you for your patience.

Namecheap Support Team

Update @  02:52 AM EDT | 06:52 AM GMT
Unfortunately the issue has reoccurred,  our technical team is looking into the issue. We will keep you updated on it’s status.

Update @  02:55 AM EDT | 06:55 AM GMT
We are sorry for such inconveniences,  the issue has been resolved. We will keep it under close monitoring.

Update @  03:58 AM EDT | 07:58 AM GMT
The webmail may be temporary inaccessible, we are working on it in collaboration with Open-Xchange development team right at the moment.

Update @  04:28 AM EDT | 08:28 AM GMT
Investigation is still in the progress, we are sorry for keeping you waiting for so long. The webmail access will be  restored as soon as possible.
Your patience and understanding are highly appreciated.

Update @  04:52 AM EDT | 08:52 AM GMT
We are glad to let you know that webmail access is restored for now. We are keeping the servers under close monitoring though.

Update @  08:59 AM EDT | 00:59 PM GMT
Webmail may be unstable at the moment, we have identified the root caus of the stability issues with Private email service with the help of the Open Xchange developers and working on the ways to stabilize the servers performance now.
We are extremely sorry for keeping you waiting for so long, this is completely unacceptable and we are doing everything possible to restore the normal service functionality in shortest terms.

Update @  09:04 AM EDT | 01:04 PM GMT
We have identified the cause as the DocumentViewer and the Calculator application within the webmail interface itself. We are disabling both of these options while a a fix is brought in.

During this time, you can still download and view documents on your desktop as you would as normal.

Update @ 09:48 AM EDT | 01:48 PM GMT
The performance of the service is stabilized.  Docs/Spreadsheet features are disabled until additional capacity is brought online to re-enable them.
We plan on having additional capacity online very soon.

Update @ 10:27 AM EDT | 02:27 PM GMT
We regret to let you know that Private Email platform is experiencing temporary issues again,  we are doing our best to restore services as quickly as possible. Please accept our sincere apologies for these inconveniences.

Update @ 11:27 AM EDT | 03:27 PM GMT
We have discovered an issue in our Open-Xchange software, which is currently causing performance issues for our privateemail.com domain. We have engaged with the Open Xchange support team and are currently working with them to correct the issue.

Update @ 01:25 PM EDT | 05:25 PM GMT
We would like to let you know that webmail is accessible now, but we are still working through a longer-term fix. Please be informed that ActiveSync option is currently disabled.

Update @ 02:00 PM EDT | 06:00 PM GMT
We regret to let you know that some interruptions of service are detected again. We are working with Open-Xchange developers on this case.

Update @ 02:23 PM EDT | 06:23 PM GMT
The webmail is accessible now. We are still working with Open-Xchange developers on this case.

Update @ 03:03 PM EDT | 07:03 PM GMT
We believe we have permanently stabilized our Private Email service powered by Open-Xchange. We are still working with their senior development team to understand the root causes of this issue and a permanent fix.

In the mean time, Exchange Active Sync services will be unavailable for approximately 2 hours while we transition them to a different server cluster.

Thank you for your patience during these issues and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Update @ 07:09 PM EDT | 11:09 PM GMT
We are performing additional maintenance at the moment. Private email webmail can be not accessible. We are doing our best to bring the service back as soon as possible.

Update @ 07:50 PM EDT | 11:50 PM GMT
We continue working on the issue. The webmail can be temporary inaccessible. In case we have a significant update we will let you know of that immediately. Thank you for your patience.

Update @ 10:18 PM EDT | 02:18 AM GMT

At this time, webmail continues to perform well and the system is stable. It is taking longer than expected to re-enable EAS services and these are not available at this time. When we have a better idea of when this is available, we will update the post here.

At this time, email is fully available via IMAP on all mobile devices. Please see https://www.namecheap.com/support/knowledgebase/article.aspx/9163  for how to configure your mobile device with IMAP.

 

Posted by allies on 23rd September 2014 @ 5:46 pm
n/a

[Resolved] DDos Attack on AtlantaNap datacenter

Dear Customers,

AtlantaNap Datacenter  is experiencing a  DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack at the moment. This is causing the temporary unavailability and network issues. Our Technical Department is  currently taking all the necessary measures to neutralize this attack and the resolve the normal workflow.

List of services affected:the web sites may not available at the moment. MySQL, cPanel/WHM, FTP and SSH accounts are not accessible as well. Private email’s webmail ay not be accessible either.

Timeframe: Unfortunately we do not have any ETA at the moment, but please be assured that we are doing our best to  restore normal services as soon as possible. We will be constantly updating you as to progress made.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter.

Kind regards,
Namecheap Support Team

Update @ 09:50 PM EDT | 05:50 PM GMT
We are glad to let you know that DDoS attack has been mitigated. The normal service has been restored.

Posted by Bogdan Ko on 19th September 2014 @ 8:54 am
n/a

[Completed] Scheduled Software Maintenance on Shared and Reseller Servers

Dear Customers,

Please be informed that we are going to have scheduled Software Maintenance on all Shared and Reseller Servers on September 20th and 21st, starting at 02:00 AM EDT | 06:00 AM GMT. The update is important to keep the overall performance of the servers on high level and ensure we continue to provide a secure and up-to-date software to you.

All the servers will be maintained in a strict order, thus we shall keep you posted regarding the process on a constant basis here.

The time frame for the maintenance: No ETA
Expected downtime: cPanel may not be accessible for a few minutes
Affected services: all the websites and services will remain functional

We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may experience and thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter.

Kind regards,
Namecheap Support Team

Update @ 02:25 PM EDT | 06:25 PM GMT
We would like to let you know that the maintenance has started.

Update @ 02:55 PM EDT | 06:55 PM GMT
Shared servers 2, 6, 18, 20-29 are currently being updated.

Update @ 08:00 AM EDT | 00:00 AM GMT
All the services are up and running, though the update is still ongoing on mentioned servers. We will keep you posted on further process.

Update @ 09:00 AM EDT | 01:00 PM GMT
The update on Shared servers 31-37, 40-45 has started.

Update @ 11:20 AM EDT | 03:20 PM GMT
The update on Shared servers 2, 6, 18, 20-29 has been completed. The update on Shared servers 31-37, 40-45 is in progress.

Update @ 02:25 PM EDT | 06:25 PM GMT
 The update on Shared servers 31-37, 40-45 is still ongoing. We will keep you updated on the progress.

Update @ 06:38 PM EDT | 10:38 PM GMT
 The update on Shared servers 31-37, 40-45 is almost done, we are getting prepared to initiate software changes on another group of servers. All the updates will be listed here as usual.

Update @ 06:58 PM EDT | 10:58 PM GMT
The update on Shared servers 31 and 32 is getting finished. The update on Shared servers 46-60 has started successfully.

Update @ 07:20 PM EDT | 11:20 PM GMT
The update on Shared servers 31-37, 40-45 has finished successfully. We keep working on 46-60 group at the moment.

Update @ 03:40 AM EDT | 07:40 AM GMT
The maintenance on servers 46-60 is still being held. Will will post next update once we start working on the new group.

Update @ 05:14 AM EDT | 09:14 AM GMT
The update has successfully finished on servers 46-60, so we are proceeding further with servers 61-75.

Update @ 12:08 PM EDT | 04:08 PM GMT
The update on servers 61-75  is still being held.

Update @ 12:35 PM EDT | 04:35 PM GMT
We keep working on the 61-75 group. The update on Shared servers 76-90 has started successfully.

Update @ 02:05 PM EDT | 06:05 PM GMT
The update has successfully finished on servers 61-62, 64-75. The update on Shared servers 63, 76-90 is in progress.

Update @ 04:50 PM EDT | 08:50 PM GMT
The update on Shared servers 63, 76-78, 80-90 is getting finished. The update on Reseller servers 3-28 has started successfully.

Update @ 05:21 PM EDT | 09:21 PM GMT
The update on shared servers 63, 76-78, 80-90 has been successfully completed. Reseller servers update is still in the process.

Update @ 06:10 PM EDT | 10:10 PM GMT
Apache rebuilt on server 79 is completed. Reseller servers are still updating, we will let you know once it’s completed.

Update @ 11:43 PM EDT | 03:43 AM GMT
The most part of the reseller servers has been successfully updated, we will start the apache update on all of them in a few minutes.
Unfortunately it may cause small downtime (up to 5 mins) for php-built sites during the resetup.

Update @ 05:41 AM EDT | 09:41 AM GMT
Currently we are finishing the update on Reseller Servers 5, 10 and 17. Apache rebuild is to be started on Premium, Business 6 servers shortly. Thank you for your patience.

Update @ 07:15 AM EDT | 11:15 AM GMT
Update on Reseller Servers has been finished successfully. We are starting Apache rebuild on Shared Servers 91-109 right now.

Update @ 08:50 AM EDT | 12:50 PM GMT
We are glad to let you know that Software Update has been successfully finished on all the servers.

Posted by allies on 19th September 2014 @ 6:21 pm
n/a

[Completed] Scheduled Hardware Maintenance on Shared Server 89 on September 21st

Dear Customers,

Please be informed that the scheduled hardware maintenance will take place on Shared Server 89 on September 21st, starting at 2:00 AM EDT | 6:00 AM GMT. This maintenance is necessary in order to improve stability of the server as we strive to provide the most stable and reliable services for our customers.

The time frame for the maintenance is the following:
2:00 AM EST | 6:00 AM GMT – 2:20 AM EST | 6:20 AM GMT, September 21st

Expected downtime: up to 15 minutes. Everything possible will be done to minimize the downtime.

Affected services: MySQL service may be unavailable for a few minutes. All the other services will remain stable.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Your patience and understanding in this matter are highly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Namecheap Support Team

Update @ 02:01 AM EDT | 06:01 AM GMT
The maintenance has started. We’ll be as quick as possible. Thank you for staying patient.

Update @ 02:42 AM EDT | 06:42 AM GMT
We would like to let you know that we have successfully finished maintaining the server completely. All the services are up and running.

Posted by Ted V. on 20th September 2014 @ 6:43 pm
n/a

.COM and .NET Domains: Scheduled Registry Maintenance – September 27 (EDT) – September 28 (GMT)

Dear Customers,

This is to let you know that on September 27 (EDT) – September 28 (GMT) the registry of .COM and .NET domains will be processing a scheduled maintenance.

The time frame for the maintenance is as follows:

September 27, 2014 9:00 PM – 9:45 PM EDT (September 28 at 01:00 – 01:45 GMT)

Domain availability check, registrations, renewals and updates will not be possible throughout the maintenance window. DNS and WHOIS services will continue to operate normally.

Please allow time until the maintenance is finished and then feel free to modify your existing .COM and .NET domains or register a new one.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Kind regards,
Namecheap Support Team